Ask the Audience

A work-friend’s birthday is this week (we are celebrating on Friday) and since I am the official birthday baked goods provider, I am trying to figure out what to make. Work-friend has requested something light and preferably made with fruit (actually, she said that it would be fine if I just brought a fruit salad or something, to which I replied – HA. DOES NOT COUNT) and while I have recipes that would technically fit the bill, nothing that I have seems quite right. This is where you come in! Please to be giving some help and sending recipes my way. Here are the requirements:

  1. Should be light-ish (and by is I mean not really heavy and dense)
  2. Hopefully something with fruit, although I am open to other ideas
  3. Will need to be transported from my house to work, so it needs to be able to be moved/transported somewhat easily
  4. Also needs to be able to be made the night before and brought to work (I do have access to a fridge at work though)
  5. Would really like to make some type of fruit tart, but I don’t have a tart pan. And I’m not interested in buying one between now and Friday. Anyone know how to make a tart in a non-tart pan? I have lots of other pans!
  6. Am willing to make something somewhat complicated, but keep in mind that I will be making this on Thursday night, and since I have been at work until an ungodly hour every night lately, this does not bode well for the amount of time between when I arrive home and when I when I give in to the goodness of sleep.

I know, I’m needy. But what do you say – can you help a girl out?

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “Ask the Audience

  1. Is strawberry shortcake an option? Light and fruity. That’s what I’d go with.

  2. -R-

    My first thought was angel food cake with strawberries and whipped cream. Strawberry shortcake sounds good too.

    I don’t know anything about tarts!

  3. I rarely bake anything that does not involve chocolate, so I don’t know how much help I’ll be.

    Occasionally I make this cherry crisp that is super ridiculously easy and involves only three ingredients. Since those ingredients are yellow cake mix, cherry pie filling, and a stick of butter, however, I don’t know that it qualifies as “light.” If it sounds intriguing to you anyway, though, let me know, and I can email you the specifics.

  4. Cooking Light recently had an upside-down peach/blueberry cake that I baked in a cast-iron skillet. It was quite yummy and easy to make. Search their web site for Peach-Berry Upside-Down Cake (June 2008 issue).

  5. De-lurking to throw in a suggestion for fruit pizza.

    Spread out a tube of refrigerated cookie dough of your choice (I’ve normally used sugar cookie dough) on a pizza pan, bake at 350 for 15-20 minutes (depending on how your oven cooks). Mix an 8 oz thing of softened cream cheese with 1/3 cup of sugar and spread over the cooled cookie. Then arrange fruit of your choice on top (ie, strawberries, kiwi, blueberries, peach slices, etc.)

  6. I have a Peach Cobbler recipe that is an all time sumemr favorite. It’s super easy to make (like 1 bowl, less than 6 ingredients), tastes great the next day, and transports like a breeze. Actually, it won Honorable Mention by my mom in the 1992 Romeo Peach Festival, so you know it’s good. Email me if you want the recipe.

Leave a Reply

