Three

Three years (and one day) ago, we went on our first date. We went to Applebee’s and it only took about half an hour before we both confessed to being the world’s pickiest eaters and yeah, I would have DIED if you’d suggested that we go out for sushi. After dinner we sat at the bar and talked and literally lost track of time until the employees started shutting the lights off. I remember thinking at the time that it was terribly cliche but maybe a good sign of things to come.

Two and a half years ago, we moved in together. I was terrified, and I think you were too, but neither of us would admit it. You put these hideous duck paintings on the wall (your mom had given them to you for your old apartment when you had nothing on the walls) and I hated them SO MUCH. Even though I wasn’t surprised, I was still relieved when everything worked out so well. We ate a lot of frozen pizza.

A little over a year and a half ago, we bought our house. It was another scary time, and so stressful, but I knew that we could do it. I’m still proud of how prepared we were, how well we communicated and how much we handled. Water poured through the kitchen ceiling the day after we moved in, and we figured out a way to solve it. We’ve made repairs, planted flowers, decorated, and made this place our home. And we ate a lot of frozen pizza.

Last night, we went out to dinner to celebrate three years. I was prepared, honestly, for the time when that gooey, lovestruck feeling of the first few months would fade. What I wasn’t prepared for was what would be left – and the fact that it would be even better. You are my best friend, my family. My cheerleader and my commiserator. My comedian, my protector, and sometimes my pain in the ass. I am a very lucky girl.

Thanks for all you do. Thanks for sharing things like dancing and mini-golf with me. Thanks for listening to my boring work stories. Thanks for saving all the little crunchies (you know, the white ones) in the Chex mix for me. And most of all, thanks for making all of that delicious frozen pizza. 

5 Comments

Filed under My Sweet Babboo

5 responses to “Three

  1. What a sweet post. I love hearing about the two of you.

  2. Aw. That was sweet.

    Also, Applebee’s?? For a first date? Oh, to be 22 again. 😉
    (Actually, Applebee’s for a first date is one of many things I do not miss about being 22.)

  3. Liz

    Fighting the urge not to print entry, cut out and place in a green fuzzy notebook for posterity.

  4. Happy anniversary to you both! Have some frozen pizza for me 🙂

Leave a Reply

