The cure for what ails me

So, I found out today that my boss is being moved to a different job. And I’d be lying my ass off if I said that I wasn’t crushed by this news. I love my boss, I really do – as a person, as a mentor, as the person who tells me that Sweet Jesus, I’ve been here long enough and now it is time to go home. Bosses like this are rare, and while the candidates that may take her place are all fine, I’m still sad. I’ve learned a lot from her over the last two years, and we work well together, and I guess the overriding factor here is that I Don’t Like Change.

You can try to tell me that change is good, and try as I might to recognize that (and I really am trying, since this is an incredible opportunity for her and it would be very selfish of me to not be happy for her) this is simply The Way That I Am.

So I am sad.

Do you know what makes this girl happy when things are looking a little bit blue?

Well, there’s this. And this. But both of these pale in comparison to this.

Truth be told, although I “officially” found out about the work changes today, I pretty much knew about them yesterday. So last night, after we got home from dance class, when I was feeling mopey and Matt was watching TV, I ordered myself some shoes. Some marvelous, sure to make me feel better, shoes.

Is retail therapy always the reasonable answer to problems? OK, probably not. But damn, did it feel good. Come on. Don’t these make you feel happy?

shoes.jpeg

Hello, lovelies. I was actually looking for a pair of close-toed heels, but since the Internet assures me that it is actually in style to wear tights with peep-toes, these are great. And the best part is that even though they were $83 at Zappos, they were only $39 at Endless. Add in Zappos’ price match policy and shazam! $30 shoes. Add in the $50 Zappos gift certificate and voila! Free shoes! (Which happen to be the only kind of shoes that factor into this new budget-thang that I’ve got goin’ on.)

(Find them here or here if you have similar shoe-love.)

So yes, still moping. But at least I will have cute shoes on while I do it.

6 Comments

Filed under Kwit yer bitchun, Retail Therapy

6 responses to “The cure for what ails me

  1. Ha! brilliant – we are shoe therapy twins.

  2. If there is anything in the world better than free shoes, I haven’t found it yet.

  3. Liz

    A good boss can really make your life better – I understand why you’re sad. I hope your new boss is equally good though!

  4. -R-

    I would be sad if one of my bosses left too, so I understand. And I love the shoes.

  5. nancypearlwannabe

    Buying new shoes always, always makes me feel better. Good call.

  6. Pingback: Internet, you are a bunch of enablers… «

Leave a Reply

