Stress, causes of

Dentist, visit to

Oh, GAWD, do I hate the dentist. The good news is that I can still say that I have never had a cavity! The bad news is that I have to go back for some type of something or other on my gums. Ack. Hate.

Money, lack of

I have determined that 2008 is the Year of the Budget. It is also the Year of Savings and the Year of Not Buying So Many Shoes. Do you see the theme? It is a very painful theme, especially that last part about the shoes.

Math, the making of me to do

Look, me and numbers? We don’t mix. I mean, we can. If we have to. But we don’t really like each other. Especially when the math involves projecting what a budget might (or might not, that’s the trick!) look like, because that IS JUST GUESSING. I mean, it’s educated guessing, but who didn’t hear that term in grade school and think, “SCORE, I GET TO GUESS. NO THINKING REQUIRED.” Except now my job kind of requires me to actually guess intelligently. And people expect me to stand up in front of rooms of people to defend my guessing. Guessing should not be this stressful.

Job, all aspects of

This was probably implied by the above, but boy howdy are things busy around this joint. In good news, did you know that if you are stuck at work really really late, you CAN actually make a meal out of 100-calorie packs from your snack drawer and the candy bowl on someones desk? (Please note that I said absolutely nothing about the nutritional value of said meal.)

Television, lack of

I don’t know about you, but I enjoy ending a stressful day by vegging out in front of the telly. So when my options are limited to Dance Wars  or Deal or No Deal, I get a little cranky. I’m sorry if those are your favorite shows, but honestly Deal or No Deal makes me want to claw my eyes out. I don’t know why. Usually I love a high cheese factor but something about it is just… over the top, even for me.

And as for Dance Wars, would you believe that I actually WATCHED that horrendous piece of crap last night? I… I don’t even know what to say. There are simply no words. By the time they had their tenth ‘technical problem’ and Drew Lachey had done probably the worst job in history of reading off the teleprompter, oh and let’s not forget the liberal use of words like ‘spirit’… well, I was ready to personally beg the writers to come back. I mean, I know they’re striking for a good reason and all, but PLEASE, WON’T SOMEONE THINK OF THE CHILDREN? Or, uh, of the… me. Think of me, and my show-less existence.

But on that note, I did just remember that American Idol is on tonight! And, oh, I know it’s bad, so very bad… but it’s like a disease. I can’t help myself. It is a sad day when Ryan Seacrest and a bunch of no-talent losers are the only thing you have to look forward to.

1 Comment

Filed under Kwit yer bitchun

One response to “Stress, causes of

  1. Liz

    I am so with you about the tv – the current lineup of shows is so bad! After a stressful day of chemistry phd attempting, I need something relaxing. And deal or no deal is not relaxing – it hurts me. If those stupid people would just realize the million is not in their case that they picked randomly!!!! they’d actually win some money. Apparently, people don’t understand this. Maybe we should write a book.

Leave a Reply

