Subject to Interpretation

What, exactly, do you think it means when your doctor leaves you a message on your machine that goes as follows:

Hi, this is Doctor X calling from X Medical Office. Please call back regarding the results of your MRI exam. Uh, everything was essentially normal. But, uh, we just need to have a quick conversation.

WHAT  THE HELL???

What really gets me is the word essentially. Essentially normal? Is that the same as normal? Or does that mean almost normal, kind of sort of normal, except for that giant hole where your frontal lobe should be???

I repeat: WHAT THE HELL???

And, gee, wouldn’t you know that despite the fact that Doctor X has both my work AND cell numbers (both of which I would have answered at the time of his call) he chose to call the house phone, which I have repeatedly told the office not the use, because we check our messages approximately once a week, and it is only by coincidence that I got his message today and not a week from now. So now I have until tomorrow at 9 to wonder what ‘essentially normal’ is. And that’s really awesome, because it’s not like I’m a total worrywart or anything. (Heavy sarcasm, OBVIOUSLY.)

So, anyway, let’s focus on something that is totally, 100% good news. (Not essentially good news. Just plain old good, nay, GREAT news.) My BFF Liz, who is a chemist, got some kind of super duper results with her lab work. There is no chance of me explaining more than that, but it has something to do with polymers, and it is awesome, and she has worked really (REALLY) hard to make such awesomeness. Go Liz! And if you are feeling particularly sweet and wonderful, might you consider leaving a comment here letting her know how awesome she is? Because everyone deserves to know how awesome they are are sometimes, especially when it is true!

4 Comments

Filed under Friends, Migraines Suck

4 responses to “Subject to Interpretation

  1. Yay Liz!! 🙂 Boo to your doctor. 😦 I’m sure everything is OK.

  2. -R-

    Way to go, Liz! Congratulations on the polymer success!

    I am sure the doctor’s comments will be fine. I bet he just needs to run a quick follow-up test, hence the “essentially.”

  3. Dude, what a horrible thing to leave on a message. I’d be a total basket case.

  4. Liz

    Aww, thank you for promoting my polymers – they love the attention! Your doctor really sucks for leaving you that message. And on your home phone – doesn’t he realize that home phones are obsolete? Let us know how things turn out.

Leave a Reply

