A Sweet Treat

If you are in the mood for something sweet, or if maybe you are bored on your snow day because your boyfriend has insisted on playing video games for approximately 18905427 hours straight and you are seriously considering poking yourself in the eye with the Wii remote, I would highly recommend this recipe for Peanut Butter bars.

As someone told me today, these bars are “what would happen if a peanut butter cookie and a brownie fell in love and had babies.” I tend to agree. They have all the peanut-buttery goodness of a PB cookie, with the texture of a brownie. Also, I had all of the ingredients in the house – a rare thing since we have limited kitchen space and need what little space we have to hold the complicated culinary utensils one requires for making frozen pizza.

I also made oatmeal chocolate chip cookies, and I was pretty impressed with myself for basically making my own recipe to accommodate the ingredients in my semi-bare cupboards. I know, I know, it’s not really a huge accomplishment, but they are yummy and that’s all that matters.

On another note, if you like games of the card variety, or if maybe you are trying to distract your boyfriend from the shiny lure of the video game console with something that does NOT make you want to stab yourself in the eye with the Wii remote, might I suggest this game? Fun and addicting, says me.

Of course, this game is not recommended for those who have chosen to couple themselves with people of the SORE LOSER variety. Because perhaps the SORE LOSER’s whining after having lost for the 1853258 time in a row will make you want to stab the SORE LOSER in the eye with the Wii remote. (Warning: the SORE LOSER may also attempt to resort to cheating in an effort to overcome the losing streak. These attempts may be laughable, but please note that visible signs of laughter on the WINNER’s part will only make the SORE LOSER more sore.) 

Anything you’ve found to be particularly tasty/cool/interesting lately?

2 Comments

Filed under My Sweet Babboo, Retail Therapy

2 responses to “A Sweet Treat

  1. So far, the score stands at Trivial Pursuit: 2-0 Me, Scrabble: 2-0 The Boy, Boggle: 1-1. Although I blame the anti-histamine for that Boggle loss. I was slipping toward the end. He maintains that I wasn’t slipping so much as he was learning the game and getting better at it than me all in the space of one evening. I sense a rematch in my near future. (God, we’re geeks.) (Competitive ones.)

  2. Oh my gosh; I have all the things for those peanut butter bars on hand, too! I’m always amazed when that happens as well. Usually it’s the eggs that get me. I never have eggs in the house.

    I hate Scrabble but love Boggle, so I’m trying to decide if that means I’d like that game or not.

Leave a Reply

