Go Shorty

I’m gonna party like it’s my birthday.

Because it IS my birthday! Today I am 25 years old, which is the same as a quarter of a century, in case you were wondering. I’ve been joking that I am old now, but the truth is that life has only gotten better as I’ve gotten older, more sure of myself, more confident, etc, so I say bring it on.

Or am I too old to say things like ‘bring it on’? I might be. I guess I have to stop saying  ‘raise the roof’, too.

Ooh, and maybe now I’m old enough to start yelling at the pre-teens at the mall to put some damn clothes on already, because it’s 20 degrees outside, and when I was your age we wore parkas, not mini-skirts.

Apparently for me, 25 comes with a tendency toward crotchety behavior.

Also, early-senility, as I would really like to leave to go to the mall right now (need an outfit to wear tonight to go with the gorgeous necklace that a certain someone got me for my birthday, because obviously I have NOTHING TO WEAR, that bursting closet is a figment of your imagination) but I seem to have misplaced my keys. Oops.

Happy birthday to me! And Happy New Year to all of you!

6 Comments

Filed under Holidays, My Sweet Babboo

6 responses to “Go Shorty

  1. -R-

    Happy birthday!

    I encouraged H to yell-whisper at some pre-teens during a movie on Friday night, so I am all for crotchety behavior.

  2. Happy Birthday! And yes, of course that necklace deserves a new outfit of its very own.

    I managed this year to parlay having fun New Years plans for once into a NEED for a new outfit. Now I’m not sure whether I’m more excited about the plans or getting to wear my new silk cami/velvet jacket outfit or the fact that they were 50% off at Sears and only cost me $40 total.

    And as I recall, I was crotchety well before I was 25. Then again, I taught high schoolers. That will speed the crotchetyfying process for anyone.

  3. 25? You are just a pup. Seriously. But happy birthday to you, and happy new year as well. I hope you have a fabulous night.

  4. Sarah

    Happy Birthday and welcome to the quarter century mark!

    Have fun yelling at the kiddies, shopping for a fantabulous new outfit, and just in general.

    Happy New Year’s 2008!

  5. Happy birthday!

    I’m 22 (23 in April! That bit of information doesn’t actually pertain to this comment. I just really like birthdays. I get excited early) and already yell at the under dressed. Bare midriffs and teeny tiny skirts get the stink eye from me. And, if it’s really bad, the occasional snarky comment muttered JUST loud enough for them to hear. It’s probably going to get me beat up someday.

Leave a Reply

