A very discombobulated Christmas re-cap.

Hello, duckies! Did you all have a good Christmas? (Or whatever holiday it is that you celebrate…)  I sure did, and I’m sad that it’s over. However, I have my pile of loot to keep my mind off of the fact that Christmas is now so very very far away.

Christmas was a bit of a blur, what with the waking up at 6am to exchange presents, shower, and drive to Matt’s parents’ house in time to exchange presents with them, eat a delicious breakfast prepared by Matt’s dad, and then drive to New Hampshire to spend time with Matt’s family at his aunt’s house. It was a long day, is all I’m sayin… However, Matt was happy with his gifts (or else he is just really talented at faking surprise and delight, one never knows) so I felt like I did a good job. His big gift was a set of new ski pants and a new ski jacket, along with a pass to a mountain near-ish to us. He really liked it, and we’ll have fun hitting the slopes this season.

I got a bunch of fancy new baking equipment, which is a definite upgrade to the hand-me-downs and Target specials that I have been using since college. Not that there is anything wrong with Target specials… but they don’t hold a candle to Williams Sonoma and my pretty new gadgets! (Imagine – measuring cups on which one can actually readthe unit of measurement, because it has not rubbed off over time!) Of course, I had already done my storm of baking* before Christmas morning, but they will be used plenty in the future.

My biggest gift was my very first ever designer handbag. I know – I KNOW – that they are a lot of money and that there are better things that the money could be spent on, and there really isn’t anything WRONG with a handbag from Target. But… But! It’s pretty. So very pretty. And you can pry it out of my cold dead fingers, OK?

Anyway, I’m back at work this week, where there is no one here and so I have had plenty of time to browse the after Christmas specials online. Today I will be leaving a bit early because two of my friends from college are coming into town. They are spending the night at our house and it will be fun to see them and catch up. Then I just have to make it through work tomorrow, and then it is time to enjoy my very own Birthday Weekend, now with extra Birthday since it will be a 4 day weekend for me. It also comes with a side of old age. (But not really, because I don’t care; it’s just that I can remember being a kid and thinking that when I got to this age I would be an adult. Which – HA – but still…)

Well that’s all for now, but I guess one of these days I should get around to some kind of yearly re-cap. I kind of like the little meme that -R- has up today so I may steal it if that is OK with her?? Until then, I am off to plot exactly how much time I can waste before I have to get some actual work done.

*I made my world-famous (or, you know, famous with Matt’s family) pumpkin pie, candy cane cookies (oooh, alliteration AND deliciousness), and cookie dough truffles (they taste and look awesome, but there was chocolate EVERYWHERE when I was done). Yummmm.

(Updated to add: Since -R- asked so nicely, here’s a picture of the purse. Hello, my preshus!)

3 Comments

Filed under Holidays

3 responses to “A very discombobulated Christmas re-cap.

  1. andyouknow

    Steal away! I just took the questions that I liked from a longer meme.

    Can you post a picture of the new purse? I want to see it!

  2. Sarah

    Merry Christmas!!

  3. Oooh! What a pretty bag!!!

    I still haven’t upgraded most of my Target specials. One of my Wishlist 2008 items is a set of dishes that all match. Exciting, I know.

    (And happy birthday, too!)

Leave a Reply

