In which I show that I am, after all, a Jersey girl at heart.

So.

I tried ALL WEEKEND to get those damn Red Sox tickets. The site would put you in this ‘virtual waiting room’ and then refresh every 30 seconds, and people were randomly selected from the waiting room to enter the site to buy tickets. I just left the 3 computers running and refreshing, hoping that I would get a chance to buy the tickets. (Matt knew what I was doing, so it would not have been a surprise Christmas gift, but he would have been excited anyway. Also, we were planning to buy tickets for Matt’s father and brother for Christmas if I ever got into the site.)

After spending all weekend running back and forth to the computers to see if we had gotten into the site, I checked on Sunday afternoon around 4:30 to see if anything was going on… and we were in!! I screamed at the top of my lungs to Matt (who was in the basement) to come upstairs and help me pick tickets. We added 4 pairs of tickets (the max any individual could buy) to our cart – 2 pairs for us, a pair for Matt’s dad, and a pair for his brother, entered the credit card information, hit submit, annndd….

Unknown error.

Welcome to the Virtual Waiting Room.

WTF? Let me tell you… I was pissed. I was really, truly angry. I know that a lot of people were trying to buy tickets, and I can’t prove that the error wasn’t on my computer (although I am almost positive it was on the site’s end of things)  but I think what made me the most angry was that the tickets went on sale at 10am on Saturday, and they were up on ticket reselling sites for more than twice the face value by 2pm. Those sites are nothing more than completely legal scalping, and it’s ridiculous.

Anyway, I showed my roots by letting out a string of curse words that would make any Jersey girl proud. Matt later said that he had never seen me so angry, and I tend to believe that he’s right. In the end, it’s no big deal. We’ll save the money that we would have spent, and we’ll buy different Christmas presents for Matt’s family members. But at the time, I was really frustrated, and I definitely let it show. I guess you can take the girl out of Jersey, but you can’t take the Jersey out of the girl, right?

1 Comment

Filed under My Sweet Babboo, Retail Therapy

One response to “In which I show that I am, after all, a Jersey girl at heart.

  1. -R-

    I would have flipped out too.

Leave a Reply

