Cantankerous Old Hag

The title of this post actually comes from a dream I had last night, because apparently even my subconscious knows what I really am deep down inside. But shit, if you’d had the kind of week I’ve been having, you’d be a cantankerous old hag as well.

[Family drama (even more than usual), grandmother in the hospital, and a whole effing shitload of work work workity work. There you have it. Let’s move on.]

Things are looking up though. Tonight is the first meeting of the book club that a few of us started at work. We’re working off of this list, because we want to read the classics, but we’re starting with The Great Gatsby because, um, Ulysses? No thank you. We’ll need to work our way up to that. And of course you know what you can’t have a book club without? Margaritas. Duh.

Tomorrow will be a whirlwind of work (now with Big Important Meeting!) and then a fairly long drive to NJ, all of which will be made possible by the fact that at the end of the day, I get to see Liz. Wahoo!

Apparently, margaritas and Liz are what it takes to make me happy at an otherwise craptastic time. Know what else would make me happy? Today is some kind of Internet de-lurking day, so the theory is that you should comment on any and all blogs that you read, even if you haven’t done so in the past. I don’t usually mention these types of things, as I don’t think my blog is important enough to really warrant it, but if you wanted to make this cantankerous old hag really happy, you should leave me a comment and say Hi.

It seems that other bloggers are asking questions to facilitate the commenting, so I’ll do the same:

What’s your favorite holiday and why?

Discuss.

8 Comments

Filed under Kwit yer bitchun, Re: Blogging

8 responses to “Cantankerous Old Hag

  1. I really like Valentine’s Day. Not that I had a whole bunch of good ones (actually, until I met my husband, they were mostly bad) but because my maiden name was Valentine, and I always thought it was pretty cool to have a last name the same as a holiday. (Funny correlation: When I was born, there were only two babies in the hospital; me, a Valentine, and a Christmas. What are the chances of that?)

    Oh, and my book club is also reading Gatsby, but not until January, I think.

  2. zoot

    I love Halloween (does that count?) because it involves cool decorations, costumes, and CANDY.

  3. Hi 🙂

    Obviously not Halloween. See my comment a couple posts back. Haha.

    I think my favourite is, predictably, Christmas. Except this year, because my family is going to Mexico without me and I’m stuck spending Christmas with the in-laws for the second year in a row. Oh goodie. Next year I will be forcing my dad to make his Eggs Benedict recipe for at least three separate meals over the holidays to make up for it (my dad makes THE BEST Eggs Benny you have ever had, and it’s our family’s traditional Christmas breakfast meal, and I haven’t had it since 2005. Grrrr.)

  4. I LOVE LOVE LOVE Christmas. All of the joy and merriment really does my inner cantankerous old hag some good.

  5. Liz

    You’re not really going to read A Potrait of the Artist again are you? Because I don’t have fond memories of that one. Although you and I may have only spark noted that one, in which case it would be the first time reading it….

  6. Elizabeth

    I’ll de-lurk for you! I’ve been reading your blog for several months now. I think I saw you blog address in the comments of another blog I read/lurk and came to visit. Now you have the honor of being in my Blog Bookmarks of which there are about a dozen I read each day. You remind me of my sister for some reason (the vague references to your job mostly as she doesn’t have a boyfriend or townhome – so I guess you only vaguely remind me of her, but close enough). So happy De-Lurking Day!

  7. -R-

    You are not “unimportant”!
    I am jealous of your margarita-drinking book club. I want to be in a book club!
    Also, my favorite holiday is the 4th of July. I love summer, fireworks, and BBQs. Plus, it is the day before my birthday!

  8. Christmas! Because, hello, it’s Christmas.

Leave a Reply

