Project Old Pants Update

Are you sick of hearing about this yet? I try not to write about it too frequently but I really had to tell you about my latest discovery: 10 minute solution – kickbox bootcamp.

I was doing a program of pilates and running… except that the running was really not working for me. I wasn’t getting any better and I hated it so much that I knew it was not something I could stick with long term. So, I e-mailed Liz, who an exercise goddess, and asked for her recommendations. She thought kickboxing might be a good idea, and so I bought the 10 minute DVD and this one .

I started with the For Dummies one, because I thought it would be easier. It did have a helpful section that walked me through the different terms and steps – very helpful for someone like me who does not learn just by watching and copying. But I thought the overall workout was kind of… boring. Also, the For Dummies series apparently has all of these little ‘tips’ that pop up in the middle of the workout. Thanks, people – I know that it’s a good idea to drink water while working out. Oh – and it also had the longest warm-up in history. The first time I did the DVD and figured out that I was 10 minutes in and had just finished the warm-up, I was pretty pissed. Mostly because the warm-up had kicked my butt, but you know. Anyway – overall I was not impressed.

But! Then I tried the 10 minute solution DVD. Love! Love love love! It’s interesting, and not too hard, and I get a good workout. I actually look forward to doing this when I get home – and I have NEVER looked forward to exercise before. I can tell that I am building muscle, and while the number on the scale is about the same, I am starting to see a difference in how my clothes fit. I have more energy, and I sleep better, and overall I am just pleased as punch at how this is going.

Now I’m trying to step it up by really concentrating on eating better. It’s going surprisingly well. In the past, I’ve made excuses for eating – “I can eat those chips because I worked out today.” But now, I don’t even want the chips. I don’t want to ruin my hard work and I know that there are better things to eat.

I’m trying hard to remind myself that I am working on an overall lifestyle change. That my main goal is not just to fit into my old jeans, but to be healthy and to do something that I can keep up for the rest of my life. But, really, that’s a lie. I DO very much want to make a lifestyle change, but I also want to fit into my old clothes and weigh less. I guess I just need to keep reminding myself that these two will go hand in hand.

5 Comments

Filed under Project Old Pants

5 responses to “Project Old Pants Update

  1. -R-

    Good for you! I may have to try out that 10 minute solution DVD.

  2. I never get tired of reading about it. My sister has recently gotten into the videos, and I’m thinking I need to check a few out and see how I like it. I’m excited for you!

  3. I think we’ve all been brainwashed into thinking that our motive is the most important thing when it comes to weight loss/fitness. You know how everyone says you can’t lose weight for a guy, you have to do it for yourself? Those people are full of crap. Because if you know that the guy you’re long distance dating is coming to town in a month, you can totally lose weight for him. The trick is when he tells you that you look great just like you are and you start to believe him and get back to a “please pass the pudding” state of mind. Also, when I used to do kickboxing, I pictured my evil work nemesis in front of me while I kicked and punched. Very cathartic.

  4. Liz

    Yay for you – that’s awesome. I’m glad you found something you like. I think the biggest exercise challenge is just finding out what you enjoy. And don’t let those jerks tell you that runners are fitter. It just ain’t so.

  5. jen

    Good for you! And, thanks for the tip…I may just give it a try!

Leave a Reply

