To MBA or not to MBA – that is the question.

Lately at work I’ve been a little peeved (read: HUGELY FUCKING PISSED OFF) that my position is waaaaaaay under-leveled. While I fight the fight that is seemingly inherent to the corporate world, I’ve also been looking into ways to advance my career. (Because, obviously, being really good at my job and working really hard are not enough.) (Bitter, party of one? Yes, that’s me.)

Anyway, the point is that I’ve been toying with the idea of going back to school for my MBA for a while now. (This is the part where Liz shrieks in horror and tells me that grad school equals HELL, but I bet she’ll think differently when she has a lot of letters after her name.) There are so many schools of thought (Get it? Schools?) that it’s hard to know what to believe.

Some people say to go back as soon as you can, because the longer you wait, the harder it gets. Others say to get as much work experience as you can first.

Some say to go to the best school you can since the thousands and thousands of student loan debt will re-coup itself in your salary. Others say that it is enough to just HAVE an MBA and it’s not worth putting yourself into spectacular amounts of debt.

The bottom line is that this is all very overwhelming and, quite honestly, the kind of thing that makes me want to crawl under my bed and not come out. First of all, the thought of having classes and homework and all that again kind of makes me gag. I know that I can do it – I worked full time throughout 4 years of undergrad, after all – I just also know that it will be probably fairly unpleasant. Also, the thought of putting myself another 50 grand (at least) in debt is horrifying. I know, I know – it’s GOOD debt, if there is such a thing, and I should theoretically recoup the cost and then some through my salary. BUT THAT IS A LOT OF ZEROES. On top of the already large number of zeroes that make up the house, existing student loans, and car. Argh.

At the same time, I guess it would be kind of cool. I mean, while I might complain about it sometimes, I do really love what I do and believe that I’m in the right field for me (marketing, in case you forgot). So something that can help me learn more and be better at what I do is really a good thing. Also, it would make me insane if I got to a point in my life where I looked back and realized how dumb I was for not going back when I had the chance.

The bottom line is that I need to do some thinking. I also need to talk to Matt about all of this, because it will affect him too… He’ll need to pick up the slack when I’m spending all my time studying and working on group projects, etc. And of course it affects him if I have to take out a ton of loans. I guess in the short term, I’m going to start studying for the GMAT and plan to take it some time in the next 6 months or so. I’m not in a rush and I want to make sure that I think everything through – this is a really big commitment and if I do go back I want to make sure that I don’t do it halfheartedly.

2 Comments

Filed under Deep Thoughts

2 responses to “To MBA or not to MBA – that is the question.

  1. Interesting post – my husband is trying to make all those decisions right now. WHY does everyone have to give you conflicting advice? And why is it so dang expensive? Good luck figuring out what to do!

  2. Liz

    The one thing that I know is that you pretty much need an advanced degree to get anywhere in the world these days. Sad but true. It’s like grad school is the new undergrad. I guess I agree that anybody can graduate from college today so maybe you do need an advanced degree to distinguish yourself, I don’t know.

    I do know that where you go matters and an MBA from a no-name school is just not the same as an MBA from a big name school. I’ve also heard that it’s really hard to get into an mba program at all if you haven’t worked for awhile first, so you’ve got that going for you.

    And don’t feel intimidated by my grad school tales of woe – the hard sciences are extremely different from all the other advanced degree programs. I hear from my fellow grad students that business, law and med schools are all a breeze once you get in. That’s good right?

Leave a Reply

