Housiversary

One year ago today Matt and I were sitting in a room in a lawyer’s office signing the papers to close on our house. I remember being so excited and so nervous (they should put a blindfold on you before showing you the amoritization tables, is all I’m sayin’). I also remember being really annoyed because it was POURING outside with really bad thunder and lightening, and the power kept going out in the lawyer’s office building. I remember thinking that I would probably find that funny someday but not then because they needed to make copies of all the paperwork and couldn’t.

I remember that after we finished at the lawyer’s office, we drove to our new house and walked around saying, “That’s OUR wall, that’s OUR floor, that’s OUR light switch.” Never mind that by’our’s’ we meant ‘the bank’s’. I remember the horror of the last minute packing and the throwing of things into boxes labeled “miscellaneous”.

In some ways, it feels like we’ve lived here forever. I can barely remember our old apartment; only if I think really hard can I picture it in my mind. In other ways, it feels like it was just yesterday! Like it can’t possibly have been a whole year since we claimed this place as our home.

And that’s what it is – our home. It is where we laugh, and cry, and argue, and sleep, and play. It is where we – Matt and I – are a family, our own little family. I love it here. As stressful as it can be sometimes, I wouldn’t trade it for the world.

2 Comments

Filed under Home Sweet Home

2 responses to “Housiversary

  1. -R-

    Happy housiversary!

  2. jen

    Happy Happy!! Home is where your heart is, right?
    Happy Home-iversary!

Leave a Reply

