Error by Omission

[Side note: we passed our dance test last night! But sadly I was mistaken and they don’t take video of us, so you don’t get to see us dance. You’ll have to trust me that we were really good.]

I first started this site on a whim. I’d been reading a few blogs for a while and thought it sounded like something I’d like to try. I may not write the next Great American Novel, but I enjoy writing and it never hurts to have an outlet for complaining.

So, when I started this site 10 months ago (holy shit has it been that long??), I planned to be completely anonymous. Since then the only person (Only person who knows me in real life, that is) who I’ve told about this site is Liz. She also has a blog, although she started it to keep in touch with friends and family so it’s more private which is why I’ve never linked to it. It’s a great way to keep in touch, and I like that she reads what I write here.

This was all a very roundabout way of getting to my problem: I’ve never told Matt about this blog.

Uhhhh… oops?

I’m feeling very guilty about this because it really seems like something he should know, right? The reason that I didn’t tell him originally was because I wasn’t sure I would keep up with it… and I thought he would make fun of me. But now, I really feel like I should tell him. The question is – how? I admit I feel a little awkward saying, “Hi Honey! Did you know I have a web site?” Maybe I’m making a bigger deal out of this than it really is; it’s not like I have a ton of people reading or anything.

What do you suggest?

3 Comments

Filed under Dance Fever, My Sweet Babboo

3 responses to “Error by Omission

  1. Liz

    If you really feel like he needs to know, which I don’t think he necessarily does, you could tell him you’ve been keeping a blog as an outlet for your writing. I think he’d understand, especially with your creative background, that after you college, you still need a place to write. I also think he’d understand that it’s hard to start something new when people who know you are looking. People get to know you in a certain way and when you do something outside of what they know, you feel silly even though they probably want nothing more than to support you. If Matt is the kind of guy I think he is, I think he’d get a kick out of finding out you have a secret blog. It probably wouldn’t even occur to him to be disappointed you didn’t tell him earlier.

  2. jen

    I agree with Liz.
    My husband has never read mine, though, Ive never asked him to. Dont really want him to. Definitely dont need him to.
    Because as much as I love him, he would never understand. He thinks we are narcissists (um, duh). Its my own personal private thing.
    He DOES make fun of me.
    That said, you know Matt, and apparently so does Liz! And, I have to say that Im getting to know him on a completely one sided, very low level. Seems like he’s the cats meow!
    But, if you want to keep it your own little secret, I just dont see why that would be a problem.
    Hey! Congrats on the dancing!! Too bad about the video..
    Oh, and 10 months!!??
    Hmmm…so many bloggers share their names *whistles whilst looking toward the sky innocently*

  3. I bet he won’t really care. It seems like the kind of thing women might get more annoyed at, more than men. Plus, if it’s not that you were keeping it from him, so much as not mentioning it because it seemed like no big deal, I doubt he’ll be mad.

Leave a Reply

