Matt’s Birthday Weekend

I’ve always believed that birthdays and holidays should be special. Once we reach adulthood, we don’t get many opportunities to dress up in costumes, stuff our faces, open presents around a decorated tree, or blow out candles on a cake. Personally, I’ll take any excuse I can get to celebrate something and have some fun. To me, birthdays are especially exciting because you don’t have to share them. (Unless you’re a twin, or you happen to be born on the same day as someone else in your family, and if that is the case I do feel bad for you but it’s not helping my theory so I’ll choose to ignore you.) Your birthday is all about YOU, and how many days of the year is it really all about you?

With that in mind, I set out to plan Matt’s birthday celebration. His birthday is not until Tuesday, but this was his birthday weekend, because if you only get one day a year that’s all about YOU, then it really shouldn’t be a Tuesday when you have to go to work. (You totally wish I was your girlfriend, don’t you.)

Last year for his birthday weekend, I kidnapped him and took him to Foxwoods for the weekend. I managed to get him pretty far into Connecticut before he figured out where we were going. Then once we got there I surprised him again when he realized that his family (mother, father, sister, brother, and uncle) was there as well. We had an awesome time and I was very proud of myself for pulling it off. (Now you REALLY want me to be your girlfriend, right?)

This year, I got him tickets for Blue Man Group on Saturday night. I had him open them in the morning so that he could decide if he wanted to have dinner before or after the show. We ended up getting to the show pretty early and having drinks at the bar before we went up to our seats. Blue Man Group was awesome (neither of us had ever seen it before) even though I was seated next to a woman who had imbibed all the alcohol in all the land (or something close to it). Do you remember when we went to the Bruin’s game? This was worse. She was standing up in her seat and ON her seat (we were in the 2nd row of the balcony and there weren’t any other rows behind us so at least she wasn’t blocking anyone) and dancing and screaming and generally being a psychotic nutcase. The show was SO good though and we even got a picture with one of the blue men afterwards.

Next we headed over to Finale. If you live in the Boston area, you must go to Finale. I’d heard of it before but we had never been there, and the concept of having dessert for dinner was too good to pass up. We each had a flight of wine, which was very tasty, and then I really needed some real food – they do have some real food in case you don’t want to just have dessert for dinner – so I had a little salad. Then… Then it was time for the dessert. We had the Molten Cake, which is a chocolate cake with molten chocolate inside, served with hazelnut gelato and chocolate covered almonds and a chocolate sauce. Words do not do this cake justice. I wanted to marry this cake and have its babies.

On Sunday, we went to a birthday breakfast with Matt’s family. We had to get up a little earlier than I would have liked, but it was OK because breakfast was good and we had a good time. Once we got home we just kind of vegged for the rest of the day, watched baseball, read, etc.

Oh – I did also let him open the rest of his presents on Saturday, because he wore me down with the guessing and the asking. He got a big-ass Craftsman tool chest thing, a panini press (which truthfully is as much for me as for him, but shhhh don’t tell him that), some personalized coasters for his bar, and a few other little things.

I think he had a really good birthday weekend, which is good because on his actual birthday (Tuesday) he’s probably just going to get a card and a cake. Maybe I’ll order a pizza, too. No matter what I do, nothing will top that molten cake. Yum.

2 Comments

Filed under Holidays, My Sweet Babboo

2 responses to “Matt’s Birthday Weekend

  1. -R-

    I TOTALLY want you to be my girlfriend! What an awesome birthday weekend!

  2. Oh. My. Gosh. I want that cake.

Leave a Reply

