Armed (with credit card) and Dangerous (to my own bank account)

So I’m in the market for a new purse. I have a thing about purses. I don’t like to change them frequently, so I tend to find THE ONE and then use it use it use it for a long time until I find myself suddenly disgusted with the very thought that I would carry around such a wretched piece of merchandise.

I’ve also opened myself up the realization that I am a big purse kind of girl. For years I tried to rock the small purse, and it was a disaster. For the record, I totally NEED all of the stuff that is in my purse. Here is just a small sampling of what I am currently hauling around with me:

  1. Wallet
  2. Cell phone
  3. Digital Camera
  4. 3 different types of migraine medicine
  5. Advil, Excedrin, and Tylenol
  6. Tums and Rolaids
  7. Tampons
  8. Pens
  9. a little notepad
  10. hair stuff (clips, bands, etc)
  11. Chapstick
  12. compact
  13. business cards
  14. Bandaids
  15. 7907411378952 receipts

I know what you’re thinking – is this stuff all necessary? The answer is YES. YES IT IS. And if you are ever out with me and you have a headache, or a stomachache, or a cut, or you want to take a picture, or make a phone call, or you want to know how much I paid for that slice of pizza 3 months ago, you will have exactly what you need.

I also don’t like to spend a ton of money on purses. My current purse was actually purchased at Target. I bought it on my way to the airport before a business trip when my last purse decided to completely come apart at the seams. Then I decided I really liked it and I’ve been using it for a long time. I actually don’t even hate it yet, but I do think some of the new styles are cute. Also, I do make purse-change allowances for the seasons (I only change twice a year, so I have “warm” purses and “cold” purses) and this is definitely a cold season purse.

SO! Would you like to help me pick one? The one that I really want is from Banana Republic and is really out of my price range so I won’t even post a link, because I know you people and your “but it’s so cute” and “well it’ll be a good investment” and my wallet does not like you very much for that.

Here are some that I have been looking at:

I like this one, in Tobacco, although I think that color still looks a little darker than the neutrals that are really popular right now.

This one might work, but I’m not sure… the first time I looked at it I really liked it, but now I am thinking not so much.

This one caught my eye but I think I like it in black, which isn’t very summery, huh.

I really like this one, in Saddle, and I almost bought it, but then I thought maybe that shoulder strap is a little long. I like to be able to carry my bag on my shoulder, but if it’s too long it screams “hello, I am a middle aged woman.”

Thoughts? I think the links above give you a sense of what I’m looking for. Also, remember – the cheaper the better. I’m kind of cringing even at the prices of the ones I linked to, but if I was going to go even more expensive I wouldn’t need your advice since I’d be buying The One That Shall Not Be Linked To from Banana. (OK. FINE. Here it is (in neutral). Love it.)

Please help me, o wise ones.

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “Armed (with credit card) and Dangerous (to my own bank account)

  1. -R-

    Do not buy the Banana purse! It is way way way overpriced! I like the first two purses you linked to the best. If I had to choose, I pick the first one.

  2. I like the first and second ones best too, but I’d go with the second. Very cute and summery!

    And I completely understand why you need all those things with you as I do too, plus hand lotion. Seriously, it’s good for your hands (of course) but also for your hair if it gets a little frizzy (if you are prone to that as I am).

    Happy shopping 🙂

  3. I just got this one at Target: http://www.target.com/gp/detail.html/ref=br_1_1/602-7426915-8902265?ie=UTF8&frombrowse=1&asin=B000J29CZ8 and am loving it much more than I expected. I think that this is because the purse I’ve been carrying since fall is just a little bit smaller than I’d want it to be, which is really irritating. This one is roomier than you’d think (I have a similar collection of items and my digital camera is old and LARGE) and I also had a water bottle in there last week. It is very soft and could stand to be sprayed with some Rain & Stain or something before use (mine sat in my room awaiting such treatment until I gave up and started using it anyway) just to protect it from smudges. And yes, obviously I don’t have anything to do at work if I have time to search for my purse for your comments. And to look at other lovely target.com purses. Curse you, target.com!

  4. Liz

    I’m not really into the banana bag. Even though I’m a huge fan of expensive bags, not my favorite. I like the first bag you showed. Looks roomy and it sounds like it’s very sensible inside. That’s good right?

  5. OHHHHHH, I love the Banana one. Even if it is overpriced. But I also really really love the third one. Even in black.

    Or, what the hell, buy two of them, one in black and one in brown. Still gets you in under the Banana bag price.

    I know, I am a GENIUS.

Leave a Reply

