Who needs witty titles when you’ve got flowers, trashy magazines, and pants that are too big?

This weekend was pretty gosh darn skippy. On Friday, I managed to get out of work at a decent hour, which would have been great by itself, but I also managed to finish a few major projects on Friday (including getting something out that would have cost us at least 40K had we missed our deadline). I’m that good.

On Saturday, I went to see my co-worker. She just had surgery to repair a torn ACL and so I brought her some trashy magazines and movies and we had fun hanging out while she was semi-drugged. I know that people have this type of surgery all the time, but even a “routine” surgery can be a big deal, I think. She’s stuck in this machine that moves her knee up and down, up and down all day (to keep her range of motion) and she is truly just stuck on the couch. The one time that she got up while I was there was such an ordeal that I was really glad that she had some trashy Cosmo and US Weekly to take her mind off this crap. I know she’ll get better soon and I can’t wait to have her back at work.

Matt and I were planing to go out for Cinco de Mayo on Saturday night, but once we both got home (he played golf with his Dad and brother on Saturday) we were so beat that we decided to just hang out with some TV and some wine. I think it was a good choice as neither of us was feeling like dealing with a crowded bar or crazy night. So we showed the TiVo some love and caught up on Gray’s Anatomy (so good, except for the stupid elevator voice) Heroes(Yikes! Sylar! Not dead! Future Hiro! Love this show!) and a lot of wine. Yum.

On Sunday, not only did Matt go grocery shopping (I gave him a list, of course) but he also did a list of stuff around the house, including… cleaning the bathroom. Also, he bought me flowers! Good boyfriend! All of this made me really happy because he is really making an effort not to leave house stuff to me. Whoever said that there’s nothing sexier than a man with a mop/broom/cleaning instrument of any kind was sooooo right.

And finally… my pants are too big! I can still wear them, but a belt is now a necessity on certain pairs rather than an accessory. I’ve been working really hard on exercising, and it looks like it is paying off a bit. There is actual muscle in my abs! (Under a layer of fat, of course, but still! Muscle!!) This may sound weird, but I swear it’s true: the number on the scale refused to budge, and now all of the sudden it is down about 4lbs. Is this normal? I guess maybe my body was just clinging to it, like a security blanket, and finally decided to let go. Anyway, I owe a big hug to my buddy Denise Austin, and a maybe kind of sort of half-nod to Cool Running (still hate, but uh, maybe a little less than before).

So. That’s what’s happening with me. How are you?

3 Comments

Filed under Friends, My Sweet Babboo, Project Old Pants, Uncategorized

3 responses to “Who needs witty titles when you’ve got flowers, trashy magazines, and pants that are too big?

  1. Liz

    Muscle weighs more than fat so you probably had initially been putting on muscle while losing fat but you couldn’t tell. Then, muscle needs more calories than fat so the muscle finally started winning over the fat and eating more calories for you. You should do some more strength training – it’s the fastest way to change your body shape. And keep up the cardio – isn’t exercise fun!

  2. Awesome! Sounds like you had a great weekend. And I definitely love stay-in nights after a long week. Good job on the running/exercise.

  3. -R-

    Yay on the too big pants! The instant weight loss is very weird. I have no idea how those things work.

    How nice of you to visit your coworker in the hospital. Having your knee trapped in that crazy machine cannot be fun.

Leave a Reply

