Books and Baseball and Pedicures, Oh My!

What a great weekend. The weather was so beautiful and it was so hard to come back to work today knowing that it was going to be in the 80’s while I was trapped at my desk.

On Saturday, Matt and I went for a long walk through our neighborhood. We stopped at some yard sales to admire our neighbors’ junk and had a good time just walking and talking. Then we went home and cleaned up a little bit and outlined a plan to wrangle our yard into something resembling, well, a yard – rather than what it is now, which I would characterize as part swamp, part jungle. Yikes.

Finally I sat down and started reading this book. I was a little nervous about it because I’d heard so much hype that I felt like I was sure to be disappointed. Well, as I sat on the couch crying several hours and 536 pages later, I can say with certainty that this is one of my new favorite books. I very rarely cry from reading books – I can’t even think of the last one that made me cry. The Time Traveler’s Wife is that good. I was torn between wanting to devour it so that I could know what happens and not wanting it to end because I couldn’t bear for it to be over. If you have not read this book – go read it. If you have, how did you let me wait so long to read it?

We also watched a lot of baseball this weekend, since the Yankees were in town and Matt needed to cheer on his team to kick their buts. The Red Sox came through and we now have bragging rights (which reminds me that I need to send a victory e-mail to my brother, who is sure to be sulking over his precious team’s loss). I actually enjoy watching baseball since I know a bit about it and I know most of the players. Also, it doesn’t require my complete attention so I can do other things like give myself a pedicure while I watch.

I want to go search around for more good books to read. I’m almost through with all of the books that Matt got me for Christmas (he thought that they would last until at least July, but he sadly underestimated my reading prowess) and I have a Borders gift card burning a hole in my wallet. I’m tempted to go back and attempt some of the classics that I’ve never gotten around to, but I also want to look for new(er) books that might be interesting.

Now I have to go ponder ways to 1) convince my office to let me move my desk outside and/or 2) figure out a way to become a professional reader!

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Books and Baseball and Pedicures, Oh My!

  1. Let me know if you discover any professional reader positions.

    I LOVED TTTW. Such an interesting and original book. I cried too (and I also never cry). I read that book one summer in college while I was working full-time and then reading all evening. Lying on the brown carpet and reading that book in my room is one of my most distinct memories of that summer – wow, that book was amazing. Glad you liked it too!

  2. jen

    I love love love that book. Big Hands keeps trying to give it to one of his sisters. I say, NO. They can go buy their own damn copy!
    I love book.
    I also cried. But thats not saying much. I cry everytime I read a book.

Leave a Reply

