Right up my alley

Well, I thought all this talk of evil doings was going to send Karma straight over to bite me in the ass, but surprisingly that hasn’t happened (yet). Instead, I’ve been delighted to find free coffee in the copy room and this meme from Leah.

If you haven’t yet figured out that I LOVE. TO. READ. then you have been living under a rock. With no internet access.

Like Leah, I was labeled a reader at an early age. I devoured books like it was my job. Two childhood book reading quirks of note are 1) my desire to read multiple books at the same (not at the ACTUAL same time, but I would often have 3 or more books in progress) and 2) my refusal to use a bookmark, preferring to remember the page number in my head.

Was I weird or what??

Now I use bookmarks and generally restrict my reading to one or two books at a time, but my love of reading has continued. I am frequently ashamed to admit that I enjoy reading Janet Evanovich and James Patterson as much as Tolkien and Austen, but I’ve learned to get over that since hey, reading is what I do for FUN and if fun for me is reading trashy fiction, then so be it.

So. Onward with the meme! Bonus points if you can guess which favorite author of mine is not included in this list. (Hints: One of his books was made into a VERY loosely translated movie. He wrote several series and has several compilations of short stories.)

In the list of books below, bold the ones you’ve read, italicize the ones you want to read, cross out the ones you won’t touch with a ten-foot pole, put a cross (+) in front of the ones on your book shelf, and asterisk (*) the ones you’ve never heard of. In the comments, let me know if you’re up for it; I’d love to see if y’all have been puttin your book-learnin’ to good use.

1. +The Da Vinci Code (Dan Brown) – Although the dialogue is painful, I enjoyed all of his books.
2. +Pride and Prejudice (Jane Austen)
3. +To Kill A Mockingbird (Harper Lee)
4. Gone With The Wind (Margaret Mitchell)
5. +The Lord of the Rings: Return of the King (Tolkien)
6. +The Lord of the Rings: Fellowship of the Ring (Tolkien)
7. +The Lord of the Rings:

Two
Towers (Tolkien)
8. +Anne of Green Gables (L. M. Montgomery) – LOVE LOVE LOVE. Want to be Anne when I grow up.
9. Outlander (Diana Gabaldon)
10. *A Fine Balance (Rohinton Mistry)
11. +Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire (Rowling)
12. +Angels and Demons (Dan Brown) – Liked this one better than Da Vinci Code… Although Deception Point was probably my favorite of his
13. +Harry Potter and the Order of the

Phoenix (Rowling)
14. *A Prayer for Owen Meany (John Irving)
15. Memoirs of a Geisha (Arthur Golden)
16. +Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone (Rowling)
17. Fall on Your Knees (Ann-Marie MacDonald)
18. +The Stand (Stephen King)
19. +Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban(Rowling)
20. +Jane Eyre (Charlotte Bronte)
21. +The Hobbit (Tolkien)
22. +The Catcher in the

Rye (J. D. Salinger)
23. +Little Women (Louisa May Alcott) —  Probably read this 10+ times as a kid.
24. +The Lovely Bones (Alice Sebold) – Didn’t like this one as much as everyone else seemed to.
25. Life of Pi (Yann Martel)
26. +The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy (Douglas Adams)—Own it but haven’t read it yet.
27.

Wuthering
Heights (Emily Bronte)
28. +The Lion, The Witch, and the Wardrobe (C. S. Lewis)
29. East of Eden (John Steinbeck)
30. +Tuesdays with Morrie (Mitch Albom) – Meh. It was OK.
31. +Dune (Frank Herbert) – Own it but haven’t read it yet.
32. +The Notebook (Nicholas Sparks) –Meh – wasn’t impressed.
33. +Atlas Shrugged (Ayn Rand)
34. +1984 (Orwell)
35. *The Mists of Avalon (Marion Zimmer Bradley)
36. *The Pillars of the Earth (Ken Follett)
37. The Power of One (Bryce Courtenay)
38. +I Know This Much is True (Wally Lamb) – LOVED.
39. The Red Tent (Anita Diamant)
40. The Alchemist (Paulo Coelho)
41. *The Clan of the Cave Bear (Jean M. Auel)
42. The Kite Runner (Khaled Hosseini)
43. +Confessions of a Shopaholic (Sophie Kinsella)
44. The Five People You Meet In Heaven (Mitch Albom)
45. Bible
46. Anna Karenina (Tolstoy)
47. The Count of Monte Cristo (Alexandre Dumas)
48. +Angela’s Ashes (Frank McCourt)
49. The Grapes of Wrath (John Steinbeck)
50. +She’s Come Undone (Wally Lamb)
51. *The Poisonwood Bible (Barbara Kingsolver)
52. A Tale of Two Cities (Dickens)
53. *Ender’s Game (Orson Scott Card)
54. +Great Expectations (Dickens)
55. +The Great Gatsby (Fitzgerald)
56. The Stone Angel (Margaret Laurence)
57. +Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets (Rowling)
58. *The Thorn Birds (Colleen McCullough)
59. The Handmaid’s Tale (Margaret Atwood)
60. The Time Traveller’s Wife (Audrew Niffenegger)—Really need to read this since I keep hearing how good it is.
61. Crime and Punishment (Fyodor Dostoyevsky)
62. +The Fountainhead (Ayn Rand)
63. +War and Peace (Tolstoy) —  Read this in the summer after 3rd grade because I was DETERMINED to be able to list it on my summer reading list. Can someone say NERD.
64. Interview with the Vampire (Anne Rice) – Tried to read this once before and couldn’t get into it. Would like to try again.
65. *Fifth Business (Robertson Davis)
66. One Hundred Years Of Solitude (Gabriel Garcia Marquez)
67. The Sisterhood of the Travelling Pants (Ann Brashares)
68. +Catch-22 (Joseph Heller)
69. Les Miserables (Hugo)
70. The Little Prince (Antoine de Saint-Exupery)
71. Bridget Jones’ Diary (Fielding)
72. Love in the Time of Cholera (Marquez)
73. Shogun (James Clavell)
74. The English Patient (Michael Ondaatje)
75. +The

Secret
Garden(Frances Hodgson Burnett)
76. The Summer Tree (Guy Gavriel Kay)
77. +A Tree Grows in

Brooklyn (Betty Smith)
78. *The World According To Garp (John Irving)
79. The Diviners (Margaret Laurence)
80. +

Charlotte’s Web (E.B. White)
81. *Not Wanted On the Voyage (Timothy Findley)
82. +Of Mice And Men (Steinbeck)
83. Rebecca (Daphne DuMaurier)
84. *Wizard’s First Rule (Terry Goodkind)
85. +Emma (Jane Austen)
86. *Watership Down (Richard Adams)
87. Brave New World (Aldous Huxley)
88. *The Stone Diaries (Carol Shields)
89. *Blindness (Jose Saramago)
90. *Kane and Abel (Jeffrey Archer)
91. *In The Skin Of A Lion (Ondaatje)
92. Lord of the Flies (Golding)
93. The Good Earth (Pearl S. Buck)
94. The Secret Life of Bees (Sue Monk Kidd)
95. +The Bourne Identity (Robert Ludlum)
96. +The Outsiders (S. E. Hinton)
97. White Oleander (Janet Fitch)
98. A Woman of Substance (Barbara Taylor Bradford)
99. *The Celestine Prophecy (James Redfield)
100. Ulysses (James Joyce)

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Right up my alley

  1. jen

    Gaaad. That meme is too long for meme. I read voraciously, as well.
    Ive also decided that I am going to start reviewing the books I read for my friends on my LiveJournal.
    Here is something I wrote there at the beginning of my first review:

    “Not that you even asked, but Ive decided that whenever I read a book, I will review it for your pleasure. Okay, well, maybe it will just be for my own pleasure…I like reviewing books. It allows me to push my views onto people who have no say in the matter. You want to review it? Use YOUR Journal.

    Some things you should know first:
    1. I dont want to Learn anything when I read. That is not to say I do not glean some knowledge from the books I read, but I do not pick books because, oh, say I want to learn about automechanics.
    2. I read strictly for pleasure.
    3. That is to say, I have this hole between my ears, and I have to fill it with Something.
    4. I read a lot of pith.
    5. I like to read books that make me cry. Generally, if I didnt cry, I dont think its good.
    6. I really hate the way most books end.”

    Some other things? I do not enjoy Dickens. He makes me want to throw myself out of my office window. I also dislike Steinbeck (snore) and Bronte.
    I love Poetry, and I want it to be Linear. I read poetry for the way it Looks, not so much for the way it Reads. See ee cummings.
    I think that Franny and Zooey by Salinger and The Fountainhead by Rand are quite possibly the best books ever written. Ever. I carry F&Z with me wherever I go. I have read almost every book on Oprahs list. But not because Oprah said to. I want to punch HER in her ovaries.
    I am terribly impressed that you have read War and Peace. Why on earth a fourth grader would have that goal, is way beyond me. I am in like 20th grade, and I still do not want to read that book!
    And, A Prayer for Owen Meany is pretty good. And so is The Red Tent.
    Sorry I went on and on. Ill try to keep it at a minimum from now on…

  2. -R-

    Sisterhood of the Travelling Pants is surprisingly good. And I loved White Oleander, though it disturbed me.

  3. I do love a good Evanovich or Patterson myself. I just finished The Lifeguard by him and someone else. Every once in a while, you just have to allow yourself a book that you can read in the space of an afternoon. When I discovered the Stephanie Plums, I read the first six in one week. Apparently I had no social life at the time. I know this comes as a big surprise.

Leave a Reply

