I’ve noticed…

I’ve noticed a few things about my writing style since I started this blog. I’m sure you don’t care, but I’d kind of like to record these observations for posterity:

  • I have a hard time coming up with titles. Sometimes I try to be catchy with them, but mostly I just don’t care.
  • I have a hard time coming up with ending for my posts. It always strikes me that most bloggers have nice endings that sum up the post while being snarky and giving a feeling of conclusion. I have a hard time with that. Mostly I just write to rant about something… when the rant is over, I have no clever conclusion. I wish I could just write, “Rant rant rant blah de blahdy blah. The End.”
  • I am very self-conscious about my spelling and grammer – especially since so many of the blogs that I read are written by editors/real writers. At work, I have to write constantly – e-mails, presentations, marketing plans, etc. And I know that those are always written in proper English. On my site, I write kind of like I speak, and apparently I don’t spell things correctly when I speak. As if that makes any kind of stupid sense. (And yes, I know that I could just use spell check… but I am afflicted with a condition called Lazy.)
  • I start an inordinent number of sentences with And, But, However, and Because. I guess this goes back to the whole writing like I speak thing. It’s annoying but somehow it works for me.

So, um, yeah.

The End.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “I’ve noticed…

  1. Titles and endings are hard. I have ended at least one post (probably several) with The End. I do this when speaking too, particularly if I am telling a story that is going nowhere or a story that was supposed to be funny, but wasn’t. I seriously will just stop and say “The End.” And I also tend to start sentences with conjunctions. I have had to go back and change some when I realized that every paragraph in a post starts with one. I tend to think that “so” is an adequate transition between ideas. And I am a former English teacher. Do as I say, kids, not as I do.

Leave a Reply

