Hissy Fit

Did you ever have one of those days when you wish it were acceptable for grown-ups to throw temper tantrums?

I am having one of those days.

Because, man, let me tell you, if I could get away with it I would  be laying on the floor of my cube right now, kicking and screaming.

Someone told me once that the reason that toddlers throw hissy fits is that they just get over-stimulated. Too much is going on and they don’t want any part of it. That is how I feel. No one thing is putting me over the edge, but I am tired of it all.

Tired of work being stressful and of not feeling like I can cross one thing off my list without 10 things being added. Tired of feeling guilty about the vacation day that I am taking tomorrow because it means that I will come back to more work on Monday, but GOD DO I NEED THAT VACATION DAY. Tired of paying bills and wondering how important it is that we clean our gutters (everything I’ve read says very important) and worrying about my stupid car and when will I do the grocery shopping and just… EVERYTHING.

I know that this is all really stupid stress, and that I put most of it on myself, and that there are many, many people out there with REAL things to worry about… but today, I am just having ONE OF THOSE DAYS. And I would like very much to be able to throw a temper tantrum and then have someone give me a cookie and put  me down for a nap.

Since I don’t think that’s very acceptable behavior for the office environment, I’ll do what adults do. I’ll ignore my urge to throw a hissy fit and just get on with the day. But I still contend that the world would be a better place if we could acknowledge when we are just FED UP WITH IT ALL, and receive a cookie and a nap.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

