Hodge Podge

This morning I went directly to an off-site meeting instead of heading into the office, and since the meeting was right next to a Starbucks, I indulged in an expensive coffee beverage (a venti pumpkin spice latte, if you must know) before the meeting. Then when the meeting was over, my boss suggested that we go to Starbucks again. Then when I got back to the office, I went to another meeting to find that the person I was meeting with had bought me a cup of coffee. And that is why I currently find myself crashing into caffeine withdrawal of epic proportions. The day has gone something like this:

HI I AM SO WIDE AWAKE AND SO PRODUCTIVE WHY CAN’T I BE LIKE THIS EVERYDAY LOOK AT ME GO, HMM I AM GETTING KIND OF TIRED NOW, ZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZ.

This is maybe not the best approach to the day, is what I am saying. However, turning down coffee is also not a good approach in my book. What’s a girl to do?

***

Do you find yourself adjusting the temperature in the shower frequently? I never thought that I did until the temperature knob in our shower broke. We still can’t find the right piece to fix it so currently the shower has to be turned on and off by twisting the part that sticks out of the wall with a pair of pliers. It’s not the most convenient thing ever, but it works, and it’s fine as a temporary solution. However, it is difficult to get the water to exactly the right temperature and I find myself thinking it’s OK for about 30 seconds and then wanting to adjust it but I can’t. I guess that I am never quite satisfied with the temperature of the water. Do you just turn on the water, get it right, and then leave it the whole time? Or do you adjust as well?

***

If you were going on a business trip to New York City that would involve a lot of walking and probably taking the subway, standing all day, etc. but would also involve needing to look more professional than you do on an average day (i.e. you should probably wear a business suit), what type of shoes would you wear? Now assume that all of your suit pants have been hemmed for wearing with heels that are too high to be considered reasonable when walking around all day. What would you do then?

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “Hodge Podge

  1. I have some dressy black pointy boots with heels that, while not good sneakery comfort, do tend to be a little better walking than regular heels, mostly because I can at least wear trouser socks and I put some insoles in to make them less uncomfortable. Beyond that idea, I am little help unless you can wear a skirt with one of your suits and go the unfashionable yet practical skirt with comfy shoes for subway/walking purposes, then change to heels when you get there.

  2. -R-

    1. I am like that with lots of coffee too. Except my caffeinated stages are more manic, I think.

    2. I probably change the shower temp once or twice during each shower.

    3. I would bring a non-fancy pair of comfy walking shoes and change shoes when needed.

  3. 1. I have a Starbucks in the lobby of my building so I try to forget it’s there or I’d drink way too much coffee. Not to mention the dent it would make in my bank account. I normally allow myself a treat once per week.

    2. I normally don’t change the temperature when I shower unless I turn it down a little bit at the very end when I’m rinsing my hair. I don’t know why I turn it down then, I just do sometimes.

    3. Can’t you just cancel the trip? :-) I don’t know what shoes I would wear. I’ve yet to find any shoes with heels of any sort that are comfortable enough to walk around NY.

  4. Liz

    Time to buy a new suit!

  5. Sarah

    Pumpkin spice latte is back??? Where is the nearest Starbucks????

  6. I cannot help you with the third item. To the second item, however, I will say that I must be some strange shower savant, because I know the exact spot at which to turn the knob (in my own shower only, of course), and I almost never adjust it once I’m in. As for the first item, all I have to say is thanks for the heads-up. I keep forgetting it is fall already. Yay for pumpkin spice lattes!

Leave a Reply

